Spotlight on Lenora Rogers

Today, I’d like to showcase a guest on my blog–my friend and fellow PDMI Publishing, LLC author Lenora Rogers.  She was kind enough to answer some questions that will help you all get to know her and her philosophy about life and writing.  Here’s Lenora! 

When you were growing up, did you ever think of becoming a writer?
I always had these great story ideas as a child and thought that maybe one day I would write.
 
 
You seem to have a curiosity and a love for people’s experiences and stories. Have you always been this way?
Yes. I think we can all learn and be inspired by other peoples stories. When I have days where I think..I can’t, I remember stories I have heard about or read they make me think..Why can’t I ?
 
 
For those who may not know, tell a little bit about how you came to be involved with PDMI Publishing.
I have a great love for books and learning. I thought the next best thing to writing would be for me to meet writers and help share about their books as well as doing book reviews for them. I also have a passion for history and I am always sharing fascinating tidbits of history. I have become from friends with a great many awesome writers, and one of them had apparently been following and watching my posts. That someone, Victoria Adams, saw something in me that I had thought was not within my grasp. I guess the timing was right. She approached me and asked if I had a blog, which I didn’t, so she helped me start one. I was feeling encouraged and having someone that believes in me and guided and supported me, and this motivated me to go for those dreams long forgotten. Victoria Adams has become a special friend indeed. She is friend, mentor and I dont think I could thank her enough for showing me I could reach for those dreams. Then she introduced me to the awesome PDMI, Tc McKinney and Nessa immediately took me on and encouraged me and were amazing in helping me go a step further.I find them to be my extended family now. I also could not ask for a better group of authors that have been there for me, showing me the way and helping anyway that they could.I would have to say FATE led me to the right people at the right time. I am truly BLESSED.
 
 
Your blog has what nearly anyone would consider an impressive number of followers. Tell a little bit about your philosophy on blogging—how do you do it?
Well, when I started blogging I wanted to blog about things that interested me. I think if you just blog on what you think others want to see your blog will not be as effective. If your passionate about what you write others will see that in your posts. I also believe when interviewing someone for a blog you need to retain the essence of who they are. I will usually ask them to write up a short bio and send me their links. I try to make no changes to what they send me..but do try to add a little of my own on them.
 
Do you like to read? What are some of your favorite books and authors?
I could not function without my books. In between writing I take breaks to read.I have a set of books I found in a thrift store years ago and fell in love with them. It was books that had been translated into English in 1899, Honore de Balzac. I have read them all. Le Père Goriot being one of the stories. It is hard to pick favorites as I read just about every genre of book.
 
Do you have any advice for someone who might want to write, but don’t think they can?
I would say write your thoughts and ideas down all the time. Just write. I think most everyone can write but few think they have what it takes. But you will not know if you don’t try.
 
What would you say is your personal philosophy or outlook on life?
I would say follow your dreams it is up to you. Believe in yourself. When life knocks you down keep getting back up, you will become stronger from those lessons in life. I also think that being all that you can be is up to you but it helps to surround yourself with positive and inspiring people.
 
 
Thanks for answering these, Lenora!
 
 
 
 
     
 
 
2 thoughts on “Spotlight on Lenora Rogers

  1. myeagermind says:

    Reblogged this on Lenora's Culture Center and Foray into History and commented:
    Thank you so much Clay.

Leave a Reply

