Spotlight on Megan Morales

My guest today is a young lady of great talent, who’s come through a lot of adversity to realize the dream of being a published author.  She’s one of the newest of PDMI Publishing’s authors, and it’s a privilege to know her.  Say hello to Megan Morales.

Spotlight on Megan Morales

  1. How long have you wanted to be an author?

I’ve wanted to be an author since I was very young, maybe around nine years old? I just remember picking up a pen or a pencil and started writing, even it didn’t quite make any sense. I just kept practicing and practicing, and well, here I am!

  1. Tell us a little bit about how being an epileptic has influenced your life. How does it influence your writing?

Ha! Well, it has influenced my life in good and bad ways, but I mostly like to look on the good side of things. It influences my writing, because I want to help people in any way I can, in ways that no one has ever helped me understand things.

  1. What are some of your favorite books/authors?

You’re joking, right? Everyone knows I’m an absolute fan of the books, Hannibal! (Thomas Harris’ books about serial killer Hannibal Lecter.)  Sarcasm aside, my favorite authors are, J.K. Rowling and Tolkien.

  1. Do you listen to music when you write? If so, what?

I do listen to things when I write, but it depends on how I’m feeling during that time of the day. Sometimes, I like to listen to rock like ‘Insane in the Brain’, or ‘Bad Girls’ by MIA. I have a broad range of music tastes, so it’s a bit hard to answer that question. I seriously hate rap and country though.

  1. You’re one of PDMI Publishing, LLC’s newest authors. How did you find out about PDMI?

A few months ago, I was telling my friend Vance Major about how I kept getting rejected by authors, because I didn’t have enough pages, and one even pointed out that I was a bit too young to start sending things to serious publishing companies. Vance asked me for a short excerpt from a novel I was working on, I sent it to him, and then Tc and Nessa contacted me! Most exciting day of my life!

  1. Tell us a little bit about your current writing project.

My current writing project, is about a girl who is living in a post apocalyptic world that is filled with freaky mutant bugs that were ‘accidentally’ created by the government. I can’t say anymore, it’s going to be such a huge surprise!

  1. What’s the hardest part of the writing process for you? The easiest?

The hardest part of the writing process for me, is to get all my thoughts down. I end up writing them, and it turns out only to be two pages! It’s a bummer, but I’m slowly working on it with my editor (Who, in this case, is me—it’s a lot of fun helping Megan shape this unique project.) The easiest part for me, is the detailing! I love to describe things, and it’s even more fun to write the killing scenes. Watching all those crime shows growing up/still doing so, has really paid off!

One thought on “Spotlight on Megan Morales

  1. CKoepp says:

    Interesting interview. I started sending stuff for publication in early high school, so I don’t think there is a thing as “too early” if your quality is good. 😉

Leave a Reply

